LICENSE TO CARRY
What You need to know
Concealed Handgun Training is the foundational course offered at Green's.
It is a 4-6 hour class, all in one day. When you leave at the end of the day, you will have all of your paperwork filled out, notarized, and organized just the way the Texas Department of Public Safety likes it and you'll have a good time doing it.
The cost is $75.00 for new licensees. We typically offer the course on the third Saturday of each month. You will need to bring a reliable handgun, preferably a semiautomatic, of .22 caliber or larger (at the instructor discretion), as well as 50 rounds of ammunition. If you need to borrow a gun, we've got several to choose from, and we also have plenty of ammo if you want to buy it from us. The doors open at 7:30.
Start Time: 7:30am (8:00 if you have completed your application with the Texas DPS online – see Next Steps: License Application below)
End Time: 1:00pm +/-
Handgun – you can borrow one of ours if you need to
50 rounds of ammo – You can buy it from us on the day of class.
Coffee and snacks will be provided
Free Handgun Inspection and Basic Maintenance Service for every student.
License Application: There are 2 ways to complete the application process with the Texas Department of Public Safety.
Go to and follow the instructions to complete your application on line. Print the bar-coded receipt and bring it with you to class. Once you have registered with the DPS, you can schedule to have your fingerprints taken, which saves a lot of time.
Benefits for this registration method:
Following this process usually results in a dramatically reduced processing time, allowing you to receive your license weeks sooner – versus the 2nd method mentioned below. The start time for the class is 30 minutes later.
You can fill out the application paperwork on the morning of the class and mail it in to the DPS with your CHL-100 form (Course Completion form), which we will give you at the end of the class. After completion of the course, you will mail in your application, and once the DPS begins the processing in a few weeks, they will contact you with instructions for obtaining fingerprints.
Make Sure You Are Ready for the Class: Per Texas law, this course focuses on the safety and legal issues associated with owning, using, and carrying a handgun in Texas. This is not a “How to shoot a handgun” course. If you are not comfortable with your ability to shoot your gun accurately and reliably, here’s our suggestion: schedule a “CHL Prep” course with one of our instructors. He will guide you through the entire course of fire that you will be doing during the CHL class, while offering guidance on how to improve your accuracy and reliability. This will take 1 – 2 hours. The cost is FREE, except for the cost of ammunition.
On the Day of the Class:
Bring your handgun in with you when you come into the class and check it in with one of our instructors. The handgun must be kept in some form of case, holster, bag, box, etc… at all times, except when we are on the firing line.